“We, the La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians, will maintain our sovereignty and apply this through the preservation of our land, culture, customs and traditions, development in education, health and welfare for all generations while pursuing economic development in a responsible and respectful way.”

La Jolla Band of Luiseño IndiansThe Tribe is governed by a five-member Tribal Council. The Tribe was governed by Articles of Association until 1995, when its Constitution was enacted. The Tribal Council consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Member at Large. All are elected to staggered two-year terms. The Tribal Council adopts and enforces laws and policies to enhance and preserve the Tribe and its culture and represents the band in all negotiations between the Band and federal, state and local authorities on matters of concern to the Tribe. The Tribal Council holds weekly meeting as well as bi-monthly General Council meetings, all presided over by the Tribal Chair.

Thomas Rodriguez
Tribal Chairman

Mark Lofton
Vice Chairman

Inez Sanchez Pojas

Cody Schlater

William C. Nelson, II
Council Member